Edward F. Hennessey IV Confirmed President of North Carolina Association of Defense Attorneys



Practice Areas

July 28, 2014

Edward F. Hennessey IV has been confirmed as the 37th president of the North Carolina Association of Defense Attorneys.

As president, Hennessey plans to focus on enhancing the association’s profile with the legislature and within the business community with a special focus on judicial and administration of justice issues.

The NCADA serves as a leading resource organization for civil defense trial attorneys in North Carolina and promotes the exchange of information, ideas and litigation techniques to strengthen the practice and enhance the knowledge of lawyers defending individuals and businesses in the state.

The NCADA has a membership of nearly 1,000 individuals whose practices range from general liability, workers' compensation and medical malpractice defense to product liability, commercial litigation, labor and employment, construction and local government law.

Hennessey’s litigation practice includes the representation of claimants and defendants in construction, corporate and other business-related litigation. He has represented clients in diverse industries such as real estate development, construction contracting, investment banking, hedge and other investment fund management, and transportation.

Hennessey has served as lead or co-lead counsel in jury trials as well as matters tried to the bench or to arbitration panels and is regularly involved as lead counsel in cases before the North Carolina Business Court. In addition, he regularly advises and represents clients in the negotiation of construction and other commercial contracts as well as corporate governance documents.

Hennessey earned his law degree from Cornell University where he was note editor of the Cornell International Law Journal. He received his Bachelor of Arts cum laude from Dartmouth College. Before joining Robinson Bradshaw in 1989, Hennessey served as a law clerk to the Honorable Sam J. Ervin, Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

Main Menu