Bar Admissions

North Carolina



University of Wisconsin, J.D., with honors, 1985

University of Wisconsin, B.A., magna cum laude, 1982


Steve DeGeorge handles insurance, product liability, toxic tort and environmental disputes, and he counsels clients in transactions presenting these issues.

Steve represents policyholders, exclusively, in courts across the country. He is co-chair of the firm's Insurance Recovery Practice Group and co-author of "New Appleman North Carolina Insurance Litigation (2020 ed.)," the definitive treatise on North Carolina insurance litigation. Put simply, Steve enjoys helping clients secure the insurance rights they paid for. He also counsels businesses relative to their coverage needs and negotiates with insurers for the most favorable coverage terms available.

Steve has represented property owners and alleged "arrangers" at several EPA National Priority List sites. He represents a public chemical company in a series of interrelated state and federal lawsuits, including class actions and MDL litigation, arising from discharges of PFAS and other "emerging compounds."

Steve serves as U.S. coordinating counsel for product liability and toxic tort litigation brought against three international product manufacturers.

Honors & Awards



News & Events





Professional Affiliations

  • Chemical Waste Litigation Reporter, Board of Advisors
  • American Bar Association, Insurance Coverage Litigation Committee; Toxic Torts and Environmental Litigation Committee
  • North Carolina Bar Association, Insurance Law Section, Secretary, 2023-24; Treasurer, 2022-23; CLE Committee, Co-Chair
  • Law360, IA General Liability Editorial Advisory Board, 2023

Community Affiliations

  • Project Life Movement, Board of Directors, 2016-present
  • Levine Children's Hospital, Board of Ambassadors, 2012-present
  • Ronald McDonald House of Charlotte, Board of Directors, 2004-12
  • Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority, Visitors Advisory Committee, 2004-10 
  • Leadership Charlotte, Board of Directors, 1998-2004
Main Menu