Bar Admissions

North Carolina

District of Columbia



Duke University, J.D., with high honors, 1987; Notes Editor, Alaska Law Review, 1986-87 

Duke University, B.A., magna cum laude, 1984, Angier B. Duke Memorial Scholar


Rob Harrington litigates complex business disputes. He represents corporate clients in a broad range of contract, trade practice and other business matters. Rob has served as lead counsel in cases in various jurisdictions, including the North Carolina Business Court and other state and federal courts in North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Georgia, Mississippi and Louisiana. He has represented and counseled clients in litigation and business matters across various industries, including financial services, manufacturing, agribusiness, telecommunications, sports and entertainment, health care and education.

Rob co-chairs the firm's Litigation Department, and he is president-elect of the North Carolina Bar Association. He previously served as president of the Mecklenburg County Bar, was appointed by the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court to the North Carolina Commission on the Administration of Law and Justice, and served as a member of the board of governors of the North Carolina Bar Association. For his professional work and civic engagement, North Carolina Lawyers Weekly recognized Rob as Lawyer of the Year in 2017 and Business North Carolina included him in its Power lists for 2020-24 and its inaugural Dynamic Diversity list in 2021.

Honors & Awards

  • North Carolina Lawyers Weekly, Lawyer of the Year, 2017
  • Chambers USA, litigation, 2022-24
  • Business North Carolina, Legal Elite, litigation, 2023
  • The Best Lawyers in America, bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation, litigation - banking and finance, 2010-24; Charlotte Litigation - Banking and Finance Lawyer of the Year, 2016, 2019
  • North Carolina Super Lawyers, business litigation, 2006-24; Top 100 North Carolina Super Lawyer, 2016-24; Top 25 Charlotte Super Lawyer, 2016-24
  • Business North Carolina, Power List, 2020-24
  • Pride Magazine, Best of the Best, 2022
  • Business North Carolina, Dynamic Diversity List, 2021
  • The Charlotte Ledger, 40 Over 40 Awards, 2020
  • The Mecklenburg Times Icons & Phenoms Awards, Icon, 2019
  • Mecklenburg County Bar, Julius L. Chambers Diversity Champion Award, 2015
  • Thurgood Marshall College Fund Award of Excellence, 2013
  • Duke Law Alumni Association, Charles S. Murphy Award for Achievement in Public Service, 2012
  • Uptown Magazine, Charlotte Catalyst Award, 2012
  • North Carolina Bar Association, Citizen Lawyer Award, 2009
  • Charlotte Business Journal, Diversity in Business Catalyst, 2004
  • NAACP-National Office Pro Bono Legal Services Award, 1999
  • Martindale-Hubbell, AV® Preeminent™ Peer Review Rated


  • Law Clerk, The Honorable Martin L.C. Feldman, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, 1987-88



News & Events





Professional Affiliations

  • North Carolina Bar Association, President-Elect, 2024-25
  • Mecklenburg County Bar, President, 2012-13; Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Founding Co-Chair, 2004-05
  • North Carolina Commission on the Administration of Law and Justice, Civil Justice Committee, 2015-16
  • North Carolina Bar Association, Board of Governors, and North Carolina Bar Foundation, Board of Directors, 2017-20
  • North Carolina Bar Foundation, Endowment Committee, 2020-present
  • North Carolina Bar Association, Task Force on Integration, Equity and Equal Justice, Chair, 2020-present
  • American Law Institute, Life Member, 2020-present; Elected Member, 1995-20; Restatement of the Law (Third) Agency, Advisor, 1997-2002
  • Duke Law School, Board of Visitors, 2006-present
  • Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, Board of Directors, 1997-present; Co-Chair, 2005-07
  • Legal Aid of North Carolina, Board of Directors, 2013-19
  • U.S District Court for the Western District of North Carolina, Merit Selection Panel, 2016-17
  • North Carolina Business Court, Advisory Rules Committee, 2015-16
  • American Bar Foundation Life Fellow
  • Litigation Counsel of America Senior Fellow

Community Affiliations

  • Charlotte Mecklenburg Library, Board of Trustees, 2013-23; Chair, 2018-20; Racial Equity Task Force, Chair, 2020-21; CommonSpark Campaign, Co-Chair, 2017-present
  • Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Foundation, Board of Directors, 2023-present
  • Arts & Science Council of Charlotte/Mecklenburg, Board of Directors, 2012-20; Chair, 2017-18
  • Opera Carolina, Board of Directors, 2023-present
  • TreesCharlotte, Board of Directors, 2013-23; Vice Chair, 2021-23
  • Young Black Leadership Alliance, Board of Directors, 2022-present
  • University of North Carolina Press, Advancement Council, 2017-22
  • The Greater Charlotte Cultural Trust, Board of Directors, 2008-12; 2013-17
  • Levine Museum of the New South, Board of Directors, 2003-12; Chair, 2008-10
Main Menu